On July 19, DSA's Diversity and Empowerment Council hosted a briefing: “Direct Selling: Providing Growth and Opportunity for Hispanic Americans” on Capitol Hill. The event featured direct selling company executives and an independent distributor, who discussed the significant impact of Hispanics on direct selling and how the business keeps evolving due to what is the fastest growing demographic in the United States. Special guest Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA) spoke about the importance of direct selling to Hispanics achieving success.


On September 29, 2015, U.S. Representatives Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) and Marc Veasey (D-TX) announced the formation of the Congressional Direct Selling Caucus. A bipartisan forum to build greater awareness about direct selling and policy issues relevant to the over 20 million Americans involved in direct selling. 

Direct Selling Caucus

Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)

Direct Selling Caucus

Rep. Marc. Veasey (D-TX)

On March 29 2017, the Caucus held a briefing “Direct Selling: Entrepreneurism Driving Economic Growth” to discuss the value of direct selling to millions of micro-entrepreneurs and the United States economy. Former NFL player and direct selling representative JJ Birden and noted research academic Dr. Robert A. Peterson provided additional insights into the impact of direct selling. The Caucus will be holding regular briefings to help raise awareness about the opportunities in direct selling and the commitment of its businesses to the highest ethical and consumer protection standards.


Direct Selling Caucus - 3.29.17 - 15 of 22

JJ Birden


Direct Selling Caucus - 3.29.17 - 6 of 22

 Dr. Robert A. Peterson

Direct Selling Caucus Members

As of October 23, 2017

Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Caucus Co-chair

Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX), Caucus Co-chair

Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH)

Rep. Jack Bergman (R-MI)

Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)

Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA)

Rep. Andre Carson (D-IN)

Rep. William Clay, Jr. (D-MO)

Rep. Doug Collins (R-GA)

Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-TX)

Rep. Danny Davis (D-IL)

Rep. Mario Diaz Balart (R-FL)

Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX)

Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA)

Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-IL)

Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL)

Del. Eleanor Norton Holmes (D-DC)

Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC)

Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-CA)

Rep. Bill Huizenga (R-MI)

Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)

Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)

 Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)

 Rep. Raul Labrador (R-ID)
Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ)

 Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA)

Rep. Mia Love (R-UT) Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-24)

Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-NY)

Rep. Alex Mooney (R-WV)

Rep. John Moolenaar (R-MI)

Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA)

Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-WA)

Ralph Norman (R-SC)

Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)

Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)

Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL)

Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX)

Rep. Mike Simpson (R-ID)

Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)

Rep. Darren Soto (D-FL)

Rep. Chris Stewart (R-UT)

Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI)

Rep. Juan Vargas (D-CA)


Rep. Mark Walker (R-NC)



For more information, contact Brian Bennett, Government Relations Manager.